WE CAN BE YOUR LAWYER OVER THE PHONE NO TRAVEL

Experienced help with a personal touch

REACH US NOW

Our Blog

What Causes Truck Driver Fatigue?

What do being awake for 18 hours and being intoxicated have in common? They both impair truck drivers equally. According to numerous studies, being awake for long periods of times is comparable to having a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent – the legal limit in Florida – and increases the chances of a truck accident exponentially. Pressure to make up time and work while sick often causes truck drivers to exercise bad judgment. They take risks that they normally wouldn’t take in order to do their job. The end result sometimes involves horrific traffic accidents with fatalities. To read more...

Yes, Texting Increases Car Accident Chances

Among the many variations of distracted driving, texting and driving remains one of the most dangerous. According to Distraction.gov, nearly 3,200 people were killed and 431,000 were injured last year due to crashes involving distracted motorists. These statistics underscore the importance of educating Florida residents on the dangers of cell phone usage while operating a motor vehicle. It's illegal in Florida Fines of between $20 and $400 are charged for each violation. Subsequent offenses carry more expensive fines. Considered a primary law in Florida, suspicion of texting and driving will get you pulled over by law enforcement officer. Police do read more...

Tips for safer motorcycle operation

Help Make Melbourne Roads Less Dangerous Before hiking a leg over a motorcycle, riders should be aware of safety regulations required by the State of Florida, as well as specific paperwork that must be filed. These include: possessing a driver's license or a motorcycle license valid in Florida passing the Class E operator's driver license knowledge test completing basic Rider Course in the Florida Rider Training Program obtaining self-Insurance Certificate or motorcycle insurance In Melbourne and Titusville, it is not required for riders to wear helmets if they're 21 or older, if they're are covered by an insurance policy with read more...

Pre-existing conditions in an injury case

In Florida, a no-fault state, the minimum amount of insurance required is $10,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) benefits and $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) benefits. However, the Florida Financial Responsibility Law, which is regulated by the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles, requires more – $10,000 minimum for bodily injury for the other driver and $20,000 for bodily injury per accident. While the general idea is for the accident to be "no-fault," it can financially become the risky driver's fault quickly when it comes to finances. However, there are certain limits to what can be considered when read more...

Why does it take so long to settle a car accident suit?

In a no-fault state like Florida, a car accident that causes injuries and property damage might seem like an open-and-shut case. It's no one's fault. The insurer pays up. Both parties go their own way. However, this is not always the case. Each personal injury case is unique, and many are complex, especially when more than one person is involved. Medical injuries vary case to case Consider this example: A driver is traveling with two passengers – one in the front seat and one in the backseat. Another vehicle sideswipes the car, hurting all three. The driver, who already had read more...

Contact Couture Law P.A.

    Our Office Hours